Not signed in (Sign In)

Welcome, Guest

Want to take part in these discussions? If you have an account, sign in now.

If you don't have an account, apply for one now.

Vanilla 1.0.1 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

• CommentAuthorlizz
    • CommentTimeSep 27th 2006

I'm in the planning process for a patio. This will be a rather big project for me 25x35 with two different walkways one 28' and one 32'.

I have been given 33 bags of high strength CONCRETE not cement. I am on a very tight budget and would really like to take advantage of this windfall.

I have been studying up on pour in place stones. I've got the concept down. The only thing I can't get a handle on is how to end up with a "stone" that has the beautiful raised areas and dips, etc and not just have a flat slab.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a total newbie? The only concrete I've worked with before was for fence posts and took absolutely no talent and very little thought.
    Happy Sculpting!
    Hi Lizz,

I think you need two items:

1) A point trowel which is a diamond shaped hand held tool for smoothing out concrete. You can get these at any construction supply store like Home Depot for usually $4 or $5 for the cheap ones and $15-$20 for the good ones. This will allow you to smooth out the concrete as well as hand sculp any "ups and downs" you want in the finished product.

2) An artificial Rock texture mat. This will allow you to imprint the wet concrete with real rock texture and patterns which will give the finished effect you are looking for. Texture mats are almost impossible to find - but the E-store on this website will be opening this week with texture mats available for sale.